My Interview with Joe Bunting

Joe Bunting is a friend of mine who writes for the blog, “The Write Practice” http://thewritepractice.com/. He has recently released a book called Let’s Write A Short Story http://www.amazon.com/Lets-Write-Short-Story-ebook/dp/B008Z96GF6/ref=la_B008ZCRBKW_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347288775&sr=1-1. I am so glad he has allowed me to interview him and I hope you enjoy reading this.

Tell us about your background.

Well like so many people, I wanted to be a writer when I grew up. So when I went to college, I studied literature and writing. The problem was that I wasn’t actually writing outside of my assignments. I expected school to make me a writer. (It didn’t.)

A year after I graduated, I was working this miserably boring desk job. I was so bored that I decided to start a blog, just to have something to think about. All of a sudden, I was writing everyday, and my writing was getting drastically better. That’s why I’m such a proponent for daily practice. You can’t be a writer if you’re not actually writing, something it took me a long time to figure out. And if you can practice in public, you’ll get better even faster. 

After that, I did some journalism, traveled around the world for a year and wrote about it, edited a few books, and ghostwrote a book. Then, in July 2011, I started The Write Practice to help other wannabe writers like me turn into real writers through daily practice. 

Where did you get the idea for Write Practice?

I knew I wanted to start some kind of blog and to do it right, to take it seriously and try to get 1,000 subscribers.

At the same time, I had heard Geoffrey Colvin, author of the book Talent is Overrated, talk about the idea of deliberate practice, and that you need 10,000 hours of it to become a master of your craft. For weeks, I asked myself, “How do you practice writing deliberately?” It’s a question I’m still asking myself.

So that’s where the initial idea came from, a blog about practicing writing deliberately

You use a very unique blogging format for WP – a short article followed by a practical writing prompt. Where did you get the idea for that?

This continues from the previous answer, because one thing I admired about the big blogs I was reading was how many comments they got. I cared more about comments as social proof than I did about facebook shares or tweets. I wanted to have a blog that got a lot of comments. And so these three questions sort of merged in my mind over the process of a few months: what should I write about to create a successful blog, how do you practice writing deliberately, and how do you get a lot of comments?  

Then, one day the name, “The Write Practice” popped into my brain and I had it. It was a eureka moment. I had a sense for how all the prompts and the articles would work together, and I started writing articles right away. It was really exciting!

Do you personally have any writing projects you are working on? 

So many. I’m working on a short story right now (or three). I have a non-fiction book I’m ghostwriting. And then there are new projects every day. It’s always a mad rush of writing through the day.

Tell us three very interesting things about you that most of us will not know.

I have devil eyebrows. They look like little horns. I was once in New York City visiting Ellis Island when a park ranger asked me, “Are you the devil?” Yes, ma’am. I am.

About a year and a half ago, I fractured my wrist and didn’t go to the doctor. I still can’t bend it as far as I used to and it clicks sometimes. Working as a freelance writer doesn’t come with health insurance.

This always earns the ire of writers, but I actually really like Twilight. I’ve heard all the arguments against the books, from “she’s a terrible writer” to “it’s anti-feminist,” and I don’t disagree. But I also think Stefenie, for all her flaws, is kind of a genius, and I will defend my position to anyone who wants to have a serious, respectful debate. 

 

Thanks, Joe, for such awesome responses. Leave a Comment for Joe if you would like below.

In addition, Joe posted an article of mine on The Write Practice this past Saturday. When you go visit his site http://thewritepractice.com/ be sure to also check out my article http://thewritepractice.com/grow-grass/. My appriciation again to Joe for the interview and the guest post!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

