Top Ten List: My Favorite Closing Lines In Novels

 A while back I posted a blog featuring my top ten favorite opening lines for novels [https://nealabbott.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/top-ten-list-neals-favorite-first-lines/]. Now we’re going to the end of things, and look at my favoring enders. Enjoys this. Agree or disagree. Make your own list.

10      “And so, as Tiny Tim observed, God bless Us. Every One!” Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

9        “The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.” George Orwell, Animal Farm

8        “But the effect of her being around her was incalculably diffusive; for the growing good of the world is partly dependant on unhistoric acts; and that things are not so ill with you and me as they might have been is half owing to the number who lived faithfully a hidden life, and rest in unvisited tombs.” George Eliot, Middlemarch

7        “The offing was barred by a black bank of clouds, and the tranquil waterway leading to the uttermost ends of the earth flowed sombre under an overcast sky, seemed to lead into the heart of an immense darkness.” Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness

6        “I am thinking of aurochs and angels, the secret of durable pigments, prophetic sonnets, the refuge of art. And this is the only immortality you and I may share, my Lolita.” Vladimir Nabokov, Lolita

5        “I don’t hate it he thought, panting in the cold air, the iron New England dark; I don’t. I don’t! I don’t hate it!” William Faulkner, Absalom! Absalom!

4        “After a while I went out and left the hospital and walked back to the hotel in the rain.” Ernest Hemingway, A Farewell to Arms

3        “But wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the Forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing.” A.A. Milne, The House on Pooh Corner

2        “And so we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.” F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

1        “I was a Flower of the mountain yes when I put the rose in my hair like the Andalusian girls used or shall I wear red yes and how he kissed me under the Moorish wall and I thought well as well him as another and then I asked him with my eyes to ask again yes and then he asked me would I yes to say yes my mountain flower and first I put my arms around him yes and drew him down to me so he could feel my breast all perfume yes and his heart was going like mad and yes I said yes I will yes.” James Joyce, Ulysses

Well, this is my list. Where’s your? Can you think of some good closers that I left out? Let me know in the Comment section below. Consider this, all you Writers out there. This is more than a fun pastime. This can also be an good exersize in studying what goes into a good final line so that we who write may be able to perform as well. Who knows, but in 100 years someone else might blog about their favorite endings and include the closer from your novel, or mine!

I would like to invite everyone to be a part of my monthly newsletter, THE PANDORICA OPENS. If you would like to sign up, drop me an email, abbott.neal@yahoo.com, and I’ll add you to the list. This is exceptionally timely now since I will launch my novel, PRINCE, on November 6th. Newsletter subscribers get access to early releases, extra goodies, as well price breaks – and a few free copies will be available.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

