Strategy Or Tragedy?

There is a world of difference between activity and productivity. You could be busy and still get nowhere. A man with jet-powered roller skates with only one turned on will just go in circles. A lot of activity, very little productivity.

You work to get great content, but without a plan as to how you will share it, your content may be wasted, as brilliant as it may be. It’s wasted because it is not getting to the people who could use it.

You need a plan for the content you share. This content is what you share through your books, your blog, guest posts, social media interaction, or over a cup a coffee. This strategy will govern what you share, but also where, when, and how much.

Teeter: Your Ideas

This strategy is really a balancing act. On one end you have your basic ideas that you want to communicate. Do you write books? What are your books about? Do you blog? What are the motherload issues you mine?

As you know, I write fiction. My official slogan is Composing Classics In Our Time. That is part of the content. Also, if you read my novels, and I hope you do, you will see heroes struggle with choosing between what they want to do and what they ought to do. Further, I try to write in a literary style. I aim for fine art when I write fiction.

And by reading this post, you know I blog. My motherload content deals with informative and motivational material for creative writers. This may give you some example of what I mean by your content being defined by your ideas.

Totter: Your Audience

On the other end of the balance is your audience. The point of all this writing is to get it read. Not everyone will want to read you, so you need to know your market and how to reach them. Some put the cart before the horse by beginning with the audience and ignoring the core ideas to be communicated.

The point is not to create an audience or to somehow reach the universal market, but to find your audience, your market. In other words, you need to figure out how to communicate your ideas to the people who would want to read them and be benefited by them.

The pointed truth is that you already have readers. There are people out there who will find value in what you have to say. They are very specific people, not a demographic. Get your books and blogs to them and they will be grateful. You will have more than a reader or a member of the audience, but a fan, a real fan for life, just as long as you keep the content coming and giving them great value.

What you want to say and who you need to say it to are on two ends of a see-saw. You want this to be perfectly balanced. Don’t write genius material without some way for people to receive it. Also don’t try to create an artificial audience at the expense of your basic message. This is the strategy for content we need to develop. And while many of our stories may have sad endings, that does not mean that our writing careers need to be a tragedy.

Think of how many writers fail simply from a lack of this basic plan. Maybe you know of some. You should share this with them. They will thank you for it. Also, and as always, I love to read you Comments. Tell me what you think in the Comment section below.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing

2 responses to “Strategy Or Tragedy?

  1. Neal, do you find that you started by whistling into the wind and hoping an echo will come back to you? I have over a thousand Twitter folowers (I follow more than that, all organically) but I still think I’m shouting into an empty universe sometimes. Can you share your experiences from the point where you first knew you had content to the first moment that you realized that your efforts to make your content and your audience friends with each other?

    • Great question. I studied blogging for about 6 months before I wrote my first post (should have been longer) and I still study blogging. I learned early on about a blogger’s voice and branding, all a part of what I call motherlead content. I knew what I wanted my message to be even before I started A Word Fitly Spoken. And I have never worried about numbers, even though they are not bad for me now. The reason is simple: ARCHIVES. One may have a few readers now, but if he builds his blog, new readers can find what he wrote way back when few followed him. That helps me focus on great (I hope) content, I write for my present and future readers.

Leave a Reply

