Love’s Labour Found

Love’s Labour Found is more than Shakespeare’s missing 38th play, it is the perfect description for a Creative Writer’s relationship with his own work. I know that I wrote an article called “Passion Is Overrated” some time ago, and that people have told me how they disagree, both on this blogsite and in conversations, but I do realize the necessary role of passion in Creative Writing.

The Role Of Passion

Arthur Schopenhauer wrote that we cannot want what we want. In other words, we have no control over what we desire from our own lives. I disagree. We can choose to want certain things. Not only that, but a man far wiser than Schopenhauer also said that a person is going to do what a person wants to do. This sage insight was my dad’s.

You cannot be a Creative Writer unless you have a Passion for it. My article on Passion being overrated emphasized that Commitment and Dedication means more to the career of a Writer than Passion. But also, the post argued that our Passion feeds into our Commitment, and our Commitment feeds into our Passion.

As Creative Writers, we share anxiety and tension over our stories, but we have more than that in common. Creative Writers are excited about every bit of prose we write. We write with a sense of joy. We feel a sense of accomplishment and even achievement when we write. This is not just when we finish a draft of a novel, but when we’ve had a good day of writing, or when we have written that rare perfect sentence. Being passionate about writing means we obtain a sense of fulfillment by writing as well as we can. We all have other things in our lives, such as families and jobs, and these add to our sense of personal wholeness, but we know that our authorship greatly contributes to who we truly are.

Passion Fuels Your Writing

While it may be your Commitment to Creative Writing that makes you sit and write even when you don’t want to write, when you feel uninspired, and you feel overwhelmed, it is your Passion for Writing fuels your Writing. This helps you be in a place where you want to write, where you feel inspired, where you feel centered. Passion can do this because you not only do what you want to do, but you do it as well as you can. You are careful to try your hardest because it means so much to you.

Our Passion for Creative Writing is much more than being excited over writing prose. We each have our own individual Passions, and these thing will be a part of our Writing, as well. Hemingway was passionate about baseball, boxing, and bull fighting. It is no shock that these will be in his stories. You have all three in The Sun Also Rises. This involves more than using our hobbies in our composition, but also the ideas we are passionate about. Steinbeck was devoted to the idea of a shared consciousness and the oversoul. Thus, we see examples of this in his stories. I think this is the most clear in The Grape Of Wrath, where Ma Joad learns to care for people beyond her family. It’s one thing to be passionate about Writing, but authors also need to see how we can take our individual Passions and make them a part of our industry.

We know that Shakespeare never wrote Love’s Labour Found. Still, every play and poem he wrote was a manifestation of finding his Passion for writing. Everything he wrote was his Love’s Labour Found. It’s the same for all of us Creative Writers who live and work today. In this we share something important with Shakespeare, and for that matter, with Joyce, Milton, Homer, Tolstoy, and so many others, we all share a Passion for the fine art of Creative Writing, and that is a wonderful thing to love.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Love’s Labour Found

  1. You are right about passion and commitment. One cannot exist without the other. I struggled with both throughout the years; most of it I blame myself having a defeatist attitude and constantly comparing myself to others, even though I had a degree.

    This past year, I made a life commitment to change how I viewed myself and how I viewed the world. Some days are harder, but I believe that being a writer starts with believeing that you have a story to share with the world. You have a talent, gift, blessing–whatever you call it–to be a writer. I had to take a stand and tell myself I am a writer. I committed myself to repeat that statement every day whenever fear and doubt creep in. Soon after, the passion returned.

    Fast forward to today, I set some goals I want to accomplish as a writer. I want to no longer hide behind my notebook. I want my stories to shine for the world to see.

Leave a Reply

